To Create (File) a Delayed Certificate of Birth with the State of Nevada, Office of Vital Records per Nevada Revised Statute 440.620 and Nevada Administrative Code 440.300-360

- ✓ This Packet is to aid in the process of filing for a Delayed Certificate of Birth.
- ✓ The requirements and process to file a Delayed Certificate of Birth are as follows:

# What is a Delayed Birth Certificate?

✓ A certificate of a person's birth that is filed more than one (1) year after the person of record's date of birth; and has not been previously filed in this state, any other state or country.

## Who May Apply for a Delayed Certificate of Birth?

- ✓ The person of record. Any person born in Nevada whose birth was not registered within 1 (one) year after the date of birth; and is 18 years of age or older; or
- ✓ The parent, or guardian of the person of record, if under the age of 18 years old.

<u>First Step - Is to obtain a verification from the State or Local Registrar that a</u> <u>current registered birth record does not exist within the State of Nevada.</u>

Next, Submit Application AND Three (3) Facts Need to be Established (Proven) to In Order to File:

- ✓ Date of birth; and
- ✓ Birthplace; and
- ✓ Parentage.

Documentary Evidence: At Least <u>2</u> Documents from <u>Independent Sources</u> to Prove <u>each</u> of the Facts Listed Above are Required: (One document may be used to prove any, or all of those facts.)

\*Per NAC 440.330, documents that <u>may</u> verify date, place of birth and/or parentage of the person whose record is being registered are as follows, in order of preference, but not limited to:

- 1. A hospital record of birth.
- 2. A physician's record of birth.
- 3. An affidavit to establish facts of birth.
- 4. A Nevada utility bill showing residency at the time of birth that also shows a parent's name.
- 5. A United States Census record.
- 6. A Social Security numident record.
- 7. A full page newspaper notice of birth showing the name and date of birth.
- 8. A certificate of baptism or confirmation, a cradle roll or other church record.

- 9. An entrance record from a school.
- 10. An insurance policy or a copy of a signed application for an insurance policy.
- 11. A certificate of discharge from the Armed Forces. (DD-214)
- 12. A record in a family bible if the information was recorded before the applicant's first birthday.
- 13. A driver's license.
- 14. A marriage record.
- 15. A record of a voter's registration.
- 16. An employment record.
- 17. A birth certificate of the applicant's child.
- 18. A record from an organization of which the applicant is or was a member.
- 19. Any other relevant document.

## The Following are Guidelines for <u>all</u> Documents Provided:

- ✓ Any documents must be at least five (5) years old to be considered as evidence, unless the person whose birth is involved is less than twelve (12) years of age; and
- ✓ Any document must be an original copy, a verifiable copy or notarized copy in a sealed envelope; and
- ✓ Documents presented must contain the name of the person whose record is being filed, and one or more of the birth facts; and
- ✓ Documents that show erasures or alterations will not be accepted.

## When any Affidavit is Submitted:

- ✓ The affidavits enclosed in this packet are not mandatory. The "Affidavit to Establish Birth Facts" is for any person present at or immediately after the birth of the child. The "Witness Affidavit" is for any individual attesting to information relevant to the file.
- Must be completed in its entirety by a person who witnessed the birth. The affiant must state why he / she knows and remembers the date. The relationship of the affiant to the applicant must be stated in the affidavit; and
- ✓ This document must be notarized.
- ✓ This is a legal document. Please type or print clearly in blue or black in only. Illegible completion of the form will be returned.
- ✓ Any white outs, cross outs or write overs will not be accepted.
- ✓ The person should be at least 18 years of age or has a judicial order for emancipation.

## Fees:

- ✓ Filing a Delayed Certificate of Birth with the State Registrar (including one certified copy of the certificate): \$40.00
- ✓ Verification/ Search: \$10.00 per search / verification
- ✓ Additional certified copies of a birth certificate: \$20.00 EACH.

## How to Apply:

## In person – or – by mail:

 Division of Public and Behavioral Health Office of Vital Records and Statistics 4150 Technology Way, Suite 104 Carson City, Nevada 89706

#### **State of Nevada**



### Division of Public and Behavioral Health Bureau of Preparedness, Assurance, Inspections and Statistics Office of Vital Records and Statistics 4150 Technology Way, Suite 104 Carson City, Nevada 89706 Telephone (775) 684-4242 http://dpbh.nv.gov

## APPLICATION FOR A CERTIFIED BIRTH CERTIFICATE COPY OR VERIFICATION

Number of Copies	FEE FOR A CERTIFIED BIRTH CERTIFICATE COPY
	\$20.00 per certificate

Χ	<b>TYPE OF CERTIFICATE</b> (Please check one type box below) (Please check one type box below)
	Certificate(s) to read as "Mother / Father"
	Certificate(s) to read as "Parent / Parent"

v	VERIFICATION ONLY
Л	Verifies the existence of a record with the State of Nevada and does not include a certified copy.
	Search/Verification - \$10.00 per search / verification

X	<b>LETTER OF PATERNITY ONLY</b> Only available to the parent(s) listed on the birth certificate or a federal, state or county agency.
	Letter of Paternity - \$10.00 per search / letter

#### A COPY OF THE APPLICANT'S PHOTO IDENTIFICATION AND FULL PAYMENT IS REQUIRED FOR ALL REQUESTS. PROOF OF RELATIONSHIP IS REQUIRED FOR CERTIFICATE REQUESTS. Make payment payable to: Office of Vital Records. Checks, money orders and credit cards are accepted. Please include an Authorization for Credit Card Use form if paying by credit card.

#### Name of the Person on the Certificate:

First	Middle	Last	
Date of Birth	County of Birth	State of Birth	
Parent's First and Last Name	Parent's First and Last Name	Last Name(s) Prior to First Marriage	

NRS 440.650 and NAC 440.070 requires the applicant to establish a direct relationship by blood or marriage, a legal relationship or a need to facilitate a legal process to receive a certified copy of a certificate. Below, indicate your relationship or your legal need for this certificate. Please provide proof such as a birth certificate or court order, unless the applicant is the person of record or a parent listed on the certificate. **The request will be rejected if sufficient proof is not provided.** Visit our website listed above for more information regarding proof required.

#### **Relationship and Reason for Request**

Applicant's Printed Name	Applicant's Signature		
Applicant's Address	Applicant's Phone Number		

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY	
Receipt number:	Date:
Rev. (02/15/2017)	

## STATE OF NEVADA



### DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

Division of Public and Behavioral Health Preparedness, Assurance, Inspections and Statistics Office of Vital Records and Statistics 4150 Technology Way, Suite 104 Carson City, Nevada 89706 Telephone: (775) 684-4242 · Fax: (775) 684-4156

## APPLICATION FOR HOME BIRTH OR DELAYED CERTIFICATE OF BIRTH

CHILD NAME	1a. FIRST NAME	1b. MIDDLE NAME		1c. LAST NAME
CHILD INFORMATION	2. DATE OF BIRTH	3. TIME OF BIRTH	4. SEX	5. PLACE OF BIRTH (COUNTY)
LOCATION OF BIRTH	6a. HOSPITAL/FACILITY NAME		6b. PLACE OF BIRTH LOO	ATION (Address, City, State, & Zip Code)

	7a. PARENT / MOTHER FIRST NAME	7b. MIDDLE NAME	7c. LAST NAME			
	7d. LAST NAME PRIOR TO FIRST MARRIAGE (MAIDEN)					
PARENT(S)	8. PLACE OF BIRTH (State or Country)	9. DATE OF BIRTH	10. PARENT / MOTHER ADDRESS (Street, City, State & Zip Code)			
	11a. PARENT / FATHER FIRST NAME	11b. MIDDLE NAME	11c. LAST NAME			
	12. PLACE OF BIRTH (State or Country)	13. DATE OF BIRTH	14. PARENT / FATHER ADDRESS (Street, City, State & Zip Code)			

APPLICANT	15a. FIRST NAME	15b. MIDDLE NAME	15c. LAST NAME	16. DATE OF BIRTH
	17. CONTACT PHONE NUMBER	18. APPLICANT ADDRESS (Street, City, Stat	e & Zip Code)	

I,	_, hereby attest that,, was
APPLICANT NAME AND RELATIONSHIP	CHILD'S NAME
	I do not know of or believe that a birth record
has been issued in Nevada, another state or a	nother country for this child. I do hereby attest that this
information is true, accurate and complete to	the best of my knowledge, and I understand that any
falsification, omission, or concealment of ma	aterial fact may subject me to administrative, civil, or criminal
liability.	

#### STATE OF NEVADA



### DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

Division of Public and Behavioral Health Preparedness, Assurance, Inspections and Statistics Office of Vital Records and Statistics 4150 Technology Way, Suite 104 Carson City, Nevada 89706 Telephone: (775) 684-4242 · Fax: (775) 684-4156

### AFFIDAVIT TO ESTABLISH BIRTH FACTS

	1a. FIRST NAME		1b. MIDDLE NAME	1c. LAST NAME	
CHILD'S FACTS OF BIRTH	2. SEX	3. DATE OF BIRTH	4. PLACE OF BIRTH (City, County, and State)		
	5a. PARENT / MOTHER FIRST NAME		5b. MIDDLE NAME	5c. LAST NAME	5d. LAST NAME PRIOR TO FIRST MARRIAGE
PARENTAGE	6. DATE OF BIRTH		7. PLACE OF BIRTH (State or Country)		
8a. PARENT / FATHER FIRST NAME 8b. MIDDL		8b. MIDDLE NAME	8c. LAST NAME		
		OF BIRTH	10. PLACE OF BIRTH (State or Country	)	

I, \_\_\_\_\_, certify and declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Nevada, that (Print Full Legal Name)

all the information on this affidavit are true and accurate to the best of my knowledge.

Please state your relationship to the child and explain why you know and remember the date:

Signature: \_\_\_\_\_

(Sign in the Presence of a Notary)

State of \_\_\_\_\_\_, County of \_\_\_\_\_\_, Signed and sworn (or affirmed) before me on this \_\_\_\_\_day of \_\_\_\_\_\_, 20\_\_\_\_\_,

.

by \_\_\_\_

(Name of Person Making the Statement)

The subscribing affiant appeared before me, and proved on the basis of satisfactory evidence, to be the person whose name is within instrument and affirmed to me. Affiant executed the same in their authorized capacity, and that by the affiant's signature on the instrument, the person, or the entity upon behalf of which the person acted, executed the instrument. I certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Nevada that the foregoing paragraph is true and correct.

Notary Public: \_\_\_\_\_\_ My Commission Expires: WITNESS my hand and official seal.

#### **STATE OF NEVADA**



#### DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

Division of Public and Behavioral Health Preparedness, Assurance, Inspections and Statistics Office of Vital Records and Statistics 4150 Technology Way, Suite 104 Carson City, Nevada 89706 Telephone: (775) 684-4242 · Fax: (775) 684-4156

### WITNESS AFFIDAVIT

Print Full Legal Name:		
Physical Address:		
City:	State:	Zip Code:
E-mail Address:		Phone Number:
Name of Person of Reco	ord	Relationship to Person of Record
WITNESS STATEMENT I,, certify and decl (Print Full Name) information on this affidavit are true and accurate		
Signature:		
State of, County of, Signed and sworn (or affirmed) before me on this _ by (Name of Person Making the Statement)	day of	, 20,
The subscribing affiant appeared before me, and proved and affirmed to me. Affiant executed the same in their a or the entity upon behalf of which the person acted, exe Nevada that the foregoing paragraph is true and correct	authorized capacity, and that be cuted the instrument. I certify	by the affiant's signature on the instrument, the person,
Notary Public: My Commission Expires:		WITNESS my hand and official seal.

(Signature of Notary Public)